Bears Books

The strange musings of Hayley Coulson

Hello world! 2 December 2010

Filed under: Best of Friends?,Blogs,Introduction,Understanding Miffy — Bear75 @ 9:39 pm

Well, I guess I should start by telling you a bit out me.  I grew up in Essex under the cloud of stiletto jokes, knowing that the only way to make it through life was to laugh at it (walking through it would have killed in those heels!)

After a year and a half of living in Portugal in my early 20’s, I moved to the beautiful realms of Cambridgeshire, from where I sit in a darkened room writing away until my fingers bleed (well, chafe anyway).   I travel back to my native Essex as frequently as I hear the jungle drums of a night on the town with my girlies or the border control and quarantine will let me through.

I previously worked in Communications for a big, multi-national company, where I learnt the importance of reaching an audience and sharing stories, so it felt like an organic transition into writing when I became redundant in the credit crunch of 2008.   It was also extremely cathartic as I happily typed out a list of curse words only truckers on a cocktail of Babycham/nitrous oxide would use…

An idea had been floating around in my head for some time, but I ignored it when I found out that someone else had tried putting a cat on roller skates, so I reached for the other idea that had been occupying a small percentage of my brain just behind the occipital lobe and right above the cerebellum…  I had an idea for a story.  It wasn’t the most original idea in the world and it wasn’t about to win a Pulitzer but it was one that started to really make me laugh.

I began to write my first novel ‘Best of Friends?’, which is about a girl who’s about to turn 30 and begins to reflect back on her life and the friends she grew up with.  ‘BoF?’ became a very personal book and proved the adage that an author’s first book is almost an autobiography (as much as I hated to admit it at the time!)  It was published in July 2009 and I’m immensely proud of the positive feedback I’ve received.  Mainly that it made people laugh.

My second novel is completed, and I hope on its way to you soon – but for now, thanks for reading…  :0) x

 

Leave a Reply

